Tightlacing with Scoliosis

I guess if you’ve been following my blog for a while you may already know that I have a little bit of scoliosis (though to what degree, I can’t be sure as I never got it measured).

Recently I’ve started experimenting with tape patterns (wrapping tape over a plastic-clad body) and different methods of lacing.

I discovered through the tape pattern that my waist on the right side is about a centimetre shorter than the right, which you will see affects how much surface area the corset covers my body when laced with an even gap despite the busk being centred in the front.

(I also got to create a sexy fetish neck corset pattern) ;D

As for the different method of lacing, I must say that I have no qualms and nothing against the usual crosses and “bunny ears” method. However, these days as I had not been caring for myself lately (working 8+ hours a day, 6 days a week, eating lousy hawker food, etc) my posture had to pay for it and my lower back muscles are terribly stiff. As a result, whenever I attempted to tightlace, the steel bones at the waistline will twist and warp quite badly as the left muscle on my lower back is much “thicker” and overstretched compared to the right one which is underdeveloped and sunken in. Plus, my right hip is significantly higher than the left.

So to prevent twisting the steels, I decided to experiment with different methods of lacing the corset, as inspired by this video of Gabriel Moginot.

 

Here are some pictures of what I have managed so far:-

First homemade corset. Looks a bit (  ( because I tried too hard to readjust it to be "centered", this was before I realised my measurements were not equal on each side.

First homemade corset. Looks a bit ( ( because I tried too hard to readjust (without relacing it, genius =_=) it to be “centered”, this was before I realised my measurements were not equal on each side.

C&S Constructions test corset

Sparklewren. As you can see this one achieves the straightest result as I had been fitted with a mock-up and there has been asymmetric adjustments made to suit my body.

Currently I have plans to save up and go for specially fitted corsets by certain corsetieres who specialize in this.

For now, I shall continue experimenting.

13 thoughts on “Tightlacing with Scoliosis

  1. I have scoliosis too, probably a bit more visible than yours. Most of my clothes don’t fit, I always bitch about hemlines looking uneven due to my asymmetric hips and waist. Not to mention corsets. I’m getting my two first bespoke corsets next week 🙂 I’ll follow your blog, nice to see someone with similar issue 🙂

  2. Not at all! High back corsets mean that the back is higher than the underbust/front, thus giving extra support. Examples:-
    Pop Antique Ingenue
    Christine Wickham’s pattern prototype 2 (found on the Learn How to Make corsets like a Pro group on Facebook)

    Here’s the corset I mentioned. It was made by Jeroen van der Klis of Bizarre Design for a friend of mine who has a long torso and bad posture. Jeroen van der Klis is one of Guinness World Record Holder for the smallest waist Cathie Jung’s top corsetieres (those alive at least).

  3. Pingback: Asymmetric Corsets for Scoliosis (or other skeletal issues) | Lucy's Corsetry

  4. Thank you for this article. I came across it while on Lucy’s Corsetry researching asymmetric corsets. I have just begun corresponding with a corseter about making a bespoke corset. I mentioned that I have scoliosis. I was then asked if I wanted an asymmetric or symmetric corset. After doing a little research and coming upon your blog, it would seem that I would want an asymmetric corset if I want it to fit correctly. Should that have even been a question since I mentioned it and stated that I wanted to address it?

    My current bespoke is not a high back and I’m not even sure it was made taking my scoliosis into account. I’ve been wearing it for almost 2 years but have recently noticed that my back is achy after wearing. I don’t have this problem when I wear my OTR corset that has a higher back but it does not reduce nor does it fit as well.

    Since writing this article, have you heard of or have experience with any other corset makers who specialize in asymmetric corsets? I haven’t seen the one I am currently working with mentioned.

Leave a Reply

