Correction of scoliosis with a corset?

I’m back from my first 9-to-6, 5 day a week job and have noticed a difference when I attempted two separate days of wearing my corset throughout working hours with different degrees of tightness.

Bizarre Design underbust, has a high back.

The first time I tried corseting at work was on Tuesday, with the Bizarre Design corset I had inherited from my friend, Nicole (who has a much longer torso than myself):
– 8 hours during sleep the night before (loose)
– 3-4 hours during the morning while at work (worn tightly)
– 5-6 hours after lunch while at work and on the way home (loose)

Naturally my muscles felt a bit tense but after removing the corset at home but I noticed that my posture was much straighter and my body appeared more symmetrical than usual!

I also wore the same corset continuously loosely to work on Thursday and then when I went to sleep in my C&S that night, I realised that it was much easier to lace down in it than usual. Most likely due to the fact that the Bizarre Design had a more conical/wasp waist effect, which moulded the ribs to be narrower, allowing the smaller C&S hourglass to cinch tighter.

Tighter at night in C&S Constructions! Excuse the Avengers boxers… XD

Conclusions:
– The Bizarre Design may not give me a more than 2″-3″ but it comes high up in the torso (it’s still an underbust but almost midbust on me due to my short torso) and very high in the back, adjusting my body to a very upright posture, allowing for a more symmetrical shape compared to the lopsided scoliosis torso.
– A wasp silhouette allows for ribcage shaping, making an hourglass corset easier to wear
In the future I shall be looking into creating custom patterns to see if I can create my own fashionable back brace.

Feel free to read some additional more in-depth resources by others here:
https://tightlylacedlove.wordpress.com/2013/06/05/scoliosis-corsetry-resources/

4 thoughts on “Correction of scoliosis with a corset?

  1. Hello

    A very interesting blog, thank you, and thank you for all the photos!

    I’m interesting in the practicaliy of recreating 18century and 19 century shapes. I think that it’s very difficult to be the same shape as in earlier centuries because

    we have not been in corsets from a young age, and our shape today is not changed by early corseting.

    ditto early age. If you have worn corsets all your life then they are “normal” and you move more easily than a woman wearing corsets today who is “dressing up”.

    today our role models and peers do not wear corsets – therefore they not normal, and therefore we feel a bit “odd” in them.

    What do you think? I’d love to hear your views.

    Betty

  2. I’m so sorry, I did write clearly, and perhaps I have misunderstood the general direction of your excellent blog.

    The medical side of scoliosis and its cures – I’m not at all competent to comment. My original comment was aimed at the more general aspects of corset wearing today compared with the women of the 18 and 19 centuries.

    If I may, I would like to ask a question and I will really value your comments. Question – we can wear accurate reproductions of corsets today from earlier centuries. But, can we recreate the same figure and the same posture or deportment?

    Thank you for all you work in making this site available to all your readers.

    Betty

    • Well, for a fact, we don’t train from the age of 12 like the ladies back then, so I am guessing we won’t be able to create an exact reproduction in terms of posture and figure. I don’t understand what you mean by “deportment” though.

Leave a Reply

